Weston & District Men's Skittle League

Minutes of the Annual General meeting held on 17th June 2024 at Weston-super-Mare Conservative Club

Attendance

League Officers	Committee members	Teams		
John O'Donoghue Phil Dean Anthony Lightfoot Rich Salvage	Alan Russ Aaron Bray Dennis Roper Ed Flint Paul Steer Russell Loud Steve John	Anchors - 1 Bittermen - 1 Crown Inn - 1 Earlybirds - 2 Ginger Mingers - 3 Klinkerbelles - 2 Nomads - 1 Rascals - 1 Regent Sports - 1 White Hart Harriers - 2 Worle Club - 1	Admirals - 1 Beer Masters - 1 Peckers - 1 Stragglers - 1 W.Anchors Away - 2 White Hart Humbles - 1 Unionist A - 1	Churchill Club - 1 Clarence Lions - 1 Langford Rovers - 1 Prince of Wales - 1 Regency Alleyblasters - 1 Social Club B - 2 Strays Uphill Steamers - 3 Weston Legionaires - 1
Teams not in Attendance		Bleadon Racers, Coach House A, Coach House B, Crusaders, Dab Hands, Flintstones, Half a Bag, Lord Nelson A, Shepherds, Survivors		

- 1 19:30 Meeting opened by the Chairman J. O'Donoghue
- 2 Roll call of Teams in attendance taken by the fixtures Secretary P. Dean
- 3 Minutes of 2022 AGM presented, approved and signed off by the chairman A. Lightfoot
- 4 Address from the Chairman J. O'Donoghue
- 5 Minutes silence in memory of those lost during the season J. O'Donoghue
- 6 Presentation of accounts P. Dean (In absence of D. Spearing)
- 7 League Officer reports P. Dean, R. Salvage, A. Lightfoot
- 8 Honoraria

It was proposed by J. O'Donoghue that the honoraria be increased from £715 to £870 for the Business Secretary. **CARRIED**

- 9 Consideration of Proposals:
 - 1. To raise the minimum sticker up fees from £20 to £22 for all games CARRIED
 - 2. To raise the Team Registration Fee from £20 to £30 (as per Treasurer Recommendation) –

CARRIED

- 3. To change Rule 19 from "There shall be no longer than 5 minutes between sets except the third and final set when to minutes shall be allowed" to "There shall be no longer than 5-minute intervals between all sets and food is to be had at end of game" **REJECTED**
- 4. To amend Rule 16e so it reads "In each match two points shall be awarded for each set won, one in the event of a tie and eight points for the team who have won the match. In the event of a

tied game, the eight points to be shared equally – four each" – CARRIED

- 5. To amend Rule 18 so it reads "All matches shall commence no later than 8pm. Should either team be late the opposing captain shall report this to the Fixtures Secretary and the offending Team to be subject to a £5 fine. However, games may start earlier than 8pm if both captains are in agreement and the players and sticker up are ready" **CARRIED.**
 - 6. To reduce the league Teams to 10 a side and play 5 sets of 2 players REJECTED
 - 7. To have 3 sets of 4 players if we stay 12 a side Withdrawn by proposer
 - 8. To make the individuals and pairs competitions Front pin Only REJECTED
- 9. To play all cup games on a Monday night and the first team drawn to play at home, except the Semi Finals and Final which will be played on a neutral alley. **CARRIED**
- 10. To introduce a new 6 a side cup competition on a trial basis to be played on a Tuesday night. Team Entry Optional. **REJECTED**
 - 11. To scrap the 3rd place in Perkins Cup **CARRIED**
- 12. To have the end of year presentation evening at the current venue (The Batch Country House) or move it to the Hornets Rugby Ground **CARRIED**

THE 2024-25 PRESENTATION WILL BE HELD AT HORNETS RFC ON SATURDAY 3RD MAY 2025

- 13. To elect our current Vice President Cyril King to President CARRIED
- 14. To elect committee member Alan Russ as Vice President CARRIED
- 15. To elect committee member Dennis Roper to Vice Chairman CARRIED
- 16. To elect retired committee member and vice chairman Steve James as a Life Member –

CARRIED

- 17. To re-elect the current officers (Rich Salvage Results and Web Secretary, Phil Dean Fixtures Secretary, Anthony Lightfoot Business Secretary and Dave Spearing Treasurer) **CARRIED**
- 18. To re-elect the existing committee Members Steve John, Paul Steer, Tim Urch, Russell Loud and Aaron Bray **CARRIED**
 - 19. To elect Darren Hoskins as a new committee member
- 20. To re-elect the existing chairman John O'Donoghue (Proposed by New Vice Chairman Alan Russ) **CARRIED**

There was no other business from the floor, and the meeting was closed at 21:40